Skieur d’Or AIJS – Serge Lang Trophy

Skieur d’Or AIJS – Serge Lang Trophy  2019.

Skieur d’Or AIJS – Serge Lang Trophy 2019.
Second AIJS Award for Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) in Solden, Austria.© Pierre Teyssot

Second AIJS Award for Mikaela Shiffrin (USA).

For the second time in recent years, a majority of members of the AIJS decided to elect an American ski champion as recipient of the ‘Skieur d’Or – AIJS Serge Lang Trophy’ presented by AIJS President Patrick Lang
at Soelden on Friday Oct.25 th – 2019 in occasion of the “FIS Forum Alpinum” to USA’s wondergirl Mikaela Shiffrin.

The three-time overall World Cup champion and multiple gold medalist at Olympics and FIS events is collecting for the second time the esteemed crystal trophy created by Joska and handed over by FIS since her previous election back in 2017. In past years, two other US athletes, Lindsey Vonn back in 2009 and Bode Miller in 2005 were also elected ‘Skieur d’Or AIJS’ by a larger number of ski reporters covering the World Cup tour.

During the past six years, the charming 24-year-old athlete from Vail Valley, in Colorado amassed an impressive collection of crystal trophies, gold medals at major events and victories on the World Cup tour. As a reminder, she celebrated 17 victories last winter to become the only racer to have excelled in all alpine specialties including in parallel races. So far, she won an impressive total of 60 competitions since her maiden triumph at Are, in Sweden, in December 2012 as well as four consecutive FIS gold medals in slalom since 2013.
Members of the International Association of the Ski Journalists also awarded many votes to last year’s recipient Marcel Hirscher, while Alexis Pinturault, Dominik Paris, Henrik Kristoffersen or Sofia Goggia too received much support.
“Mikaela as well as Marcel Hirscher were clearly close front runners in this year’s election – and of course both fully deserve it after all their amazing achievements during the past winter. They moved on the highest level during the entire last season and clearly dominated the rest of the field,” commented AIJS President Patrick Lang at the award ceremony at Soelden. “At the end, Mikaela passed Marcel by only a few votes in this year’s election despites the strong support expressed by the great majority of the Austrian members for Marcel Hirscher.
Obviously they wanted to congratulate him a last time his incredible career.”
“Mikaela is a very enjoyable interview partner for ski reporters who greatly appreciate her interesting answers on various subjects. She surely is doing a great job to promote our sport around the globe,” also said Patrick Lang in charge of the organization of the ‘Skieur d’Or’ award for over two decades now. “Everyone within the World Cup tour is impressed by her passion and her dedication for alpine ski racing. She works really very hard on and off the snow fields. There are only a few examples in the history of our sport of top-athletes ready to take risks competing in all specialties while shooting for the stars and become true skiing legends. She surely has much more to achieve in her mind. We all wish her great luck for another successful season this winter and more interesting stories with her.”


For the fourth time in his impressive career, Austria’s Marcel Hirscher was elected “Skieur d’Or AIJS” by a numerous members of the International Association of Ski Journalists founded in 1963.

The 29-year-old champion from south of Salzburg who set an impressive record of seven consecutive overall World Cup titles after winning 12 competitions last winter equaled Swiss Ski Legends Pirmin Zurbriggen with his fourth AIJS Award. The Austrian was already rewarded for his great achievements in 2012, 2015 and 2016.

Hirscher who scored his first World Cup podium ten years ago at Kranjska Gora, Slovenia, in March 2008, will enter the World Cup history as one of the most successful technical skiers since 1967 with a total of 58 victories and 8 gold medals in various disciplines.

He was closely followed in the votes this year by Czech’s Ester Ledecka the surprising Super-G Olympic Champion who also captured gold in snowboard.  Behind them many other top-athletes as Aksel Lund Svindal, Mikaela Shiffrin, Lindsey Vonn who also celebrated some great wins during the past season.

Marcel Hirscher could unfortunately not attend the scheduled Award Presentation at the FIS Forum Alpinum which will prevent him to receive the beautiful Cristal Trophy organized by FIS and Joska this time.

Members of AIJS wish Marcel and all the other leaders a successful and enjoyable ski season.

Soelden, October 26th – 2018

Press Release SKIEUR D’OR-2018

The Skieur d’Or – Winners of the AIJS Skieur d’Or – Serge Lang* Trophy

1963 : Egon Zimmermann AUT

1964 : Marielle & Christine Goitschel FRA

1965 : Jean-Claude Killy FRA

1966 : Karl Schranz AUT

1967 : Jean-Claude Killy FRA

1968 : Nancy Greene USA

1969 : Karl Schranz AUT

1970 : Karl Schranz AUT

1971 : Annemarie Moser-Proell AUT

1972 : Bernhard Russi ITA

1973 : Gustaf Thoeni ITA

1974 : Gustaf Thoeni ITA

1975 : Franz Klammer AUT

1976 : Rosi Mittermaier GER

1977 : Ingemar Stenmark SWE

1978 : Ingemar Stenmark SWE

1979 : Ingemar Stenmark SWE

1980 : Hanni Wenzel LIE

1981 : Marie-Theres Nadig SUI

1982 : Erika Hess SUI

1983 : Phil Mahre USA

1984 : Pirmin Zurbriggen SUI

1985 : Pirmin Zurbriggen SUI

1986 : Maria Walliser SUI

1987 : Pirmin Zurbriggen SUI

1988 : Alberto Tomba ITA

1989 : Marc Girardelli LUX

1990 : Petra Kronberger AUT & Pirmin Zurbriggen SUI

1991 : Marc Girardelli LUX

1992 : Abberto Tomba ITA

1993 : Kjetil André Aamodt NOR

1994 : Vreni Schneider SUI

1995 : Vreni Schneider SUI

1996 : Alberto Tomba ITA

1997 : Luc Alphand FRA

1998 : Hermann Maier AUT

1999 : Lasse Kjus NOR

2000 : Kjetil André Aamodt NOR

2001 : Janica Kostelic CRO

2002 : Stephan Eberharter AUT

2003 : Stephan Eberharter AUT

2004 : Hermann Maier AUT

2005 : Bode Miller USA

2006 : Benjamin Raich AUT

2007 : Aksel-Lund Svindal NOR

2008 : Matthias Lanzinger AUT

2009 : Lindsey Vonn USA

2010 : Carlo Janka SUI

2011 : Ivica Kostelic CRO

2012 : Marcel Hirscher AUT

2013 : Tina Maze SLO

2014 : Anna Fenninger AUT

2015 : Anna Fenninger AUT & Marcel Hirscher AUT

2016 : Marcel Hirscher AUT

2017 : Mikaela Shiffrin USA

2018 : Marcel Hirscher AUT

2019 : Mikaela Shiffrin USA

*Serge Lang (1920-1999), était un ancien journaliste français, très bon skieur et également fondateur de la Coupe du monde de ski alpin. French skier and Journalist he creates the Alpine Ski World Cup